Past Stories 1

教育-英文教学/支持学生活动

知识是弱势儿童打破生活障碍,开拓美好未来的最大力量。因此教育是在儿童生活上非常重要的一个环节。(育爱慈善)希望在儿童学习的道路上给与他们助力。<br/>育爱慈善机构透过走入校园,接着提供不同性质的讲座和营会,加强学生心志成熟之素质。除此以外,育爱慈善机构也藉着开办品格教育课程、小组或团康的方式,塑造学生们的伦理品德。 我们也在学生的课外活动上给于帮助,让他们能够在学业及课外活动上达到非凡成就。其中包括2018年,育爱慈善赞助了马六甲小学SK covent Infant Jesus 1的小学生到中国参加世界级的自主机器人比赛,历届共有61个国家参与,这些学生都是研发创意自主机器优秀的小学生,而该团队也不负众望获得了比赛亚军。 除此之外, (育爱慈善)给缺乏教育机会的弱势儿童机构提供英文教学,让小孩们能够在课外也能够获得学习机会。有趣的教学方式让儿童们更有效的吸收及学习英文。

Programme Details 1

健康-健康教育讲座及工作坊/健康检查

大多数人对健康意识偏低,因此需要提升小孩和看护的健康知识。如此一来,这有助于减少小孩健康问题,尤其是缺乏父母照顾的孤儿、特殊儿及缺乏科技资讯的原住民部落。<br/>配合Eternal Healthcare(EHIC),育爱慈善为受惠单位提供健康知识分享讲座及工作坊。我们主要教导孩子们健康的生活习惯,如:自理日常生活、远离疾病等知识;也为长者小孩提供健康检查服务。

Volunteer Registration

社会关怀及赈灾

在关怀社会弱势群体方面,除了到老人院、孤儿院及残障中心进行探访,育爱团队也到环境简陋或设备损坏的单位帮忙,如:粉刷、修补水喉、换灯管、维修电源等。<br/>我们还走上街头,为流离失所的流浪汉送上食物。 除此之外,我们还致力于赈灾行动。透过募集善款,给予受害者援助,以解困境。

Recycle Main

环保“袋”出新世界

蓝天白云、清澈水源、新鲜空气是大家理想的家园环境。随着工业发达及生活习惯的改变,我们周围出现了大量垃圾,理想环境似乎与我们渐行渐远。当污染现象越来越严重,我们的下一代将无法呼吸新鲜空气,更不能享用干净的水源;严重则导致生物绝种。 为了阻止这一切发生,我们只需付出一份简单的力量,改变小小生活习惯,那就是减少制造垃圾。这一切,可从停止使用塑料袋开始。 当我们购物时,可自备环保袋。环保袋不仅可循环使用,而且包装精美、透气性强。 因此,我们鼓励全民停止使用塑料袋,以减少其造成的白色污染危机。

Who We Are

与星儿同行

在这个充斥着繁忙脚步声的喧哗世界,有一群人,他们生活在专属的玻璃城堡里,以独特的思维审视着外界,隔绝所有嘈杂声,无法触碰玻璃外的世界。他们的思维模式异于常人,仿佛来自别个星球,无人理解,因此他们被赐予一个美丽的名字——星儿(自闭症孩子)。 大家对自闭症的第一个想法可能是自我封闭、不爱交流、只爱独处的行为。事实上,自闭症是一种脑部发育障碍,因而导致言语、行为、认知等出现迟缓,是一种先天性缺陷。可悲的是,至今无药物及方法能治愈。根据美国疾病控制与预防中心(CDC)在2018年发布的一项报告指出,每59名儿童中就有1名患上自闭症。自闭症的症状包括:言语障碍、兴趣狭窄及刻板重复的行为、脾气执拗、情绪不稳定、好动、触觉、视觉、听觉等感官会有所缺失或特别敏感、对周围事物听而不闻,视而不见等。 星儿不一定是沉默不语,反而有些星儿会更好动,更爱说话,但爱说话不代表懂得表达与理解别人的意思。社交能力障碍会导致星儿们与世界隔绝。因此,伟大的父母成了他们生活上的导航,默默牵着他们的手去探索这个世界。 对于星儿的父母而言,比起一般父母,他们照顾孩子的过程更辛苦。部分孩子的沟通与认知障碍将导致他们无法自理生活,因此父母须付出更多的努力和时间来照顾及教导。除此之外,他们还需要了解自症及其应对方法,才能协助孩子成长及进步。然而,生活中的部分压力也来自经济负担。为了给予孩子最好的照顾,很多父母选择放弃工作,全职当孩子的守护天使。如此一来,特殊儿童的教育费用便成了一大负担。 一部关于自闭症的电影《海洋天堂》充分地表达出星儿父母的伟大及对孩子关爱的重要性。故事讲述由李连杰饰演的星儿父亲,对自闭症儿子无微不至地照顾,甚至得知自己将不久于人世时,为孩子安排日后生活的一切。电影让大家走入了自闭儿的世界,体验自闭儿家庭的艰辛及困难。 虽然星儿在面对社交沟通方面的障碍,但他在某些领域中却有着惊人的天赋,包括:音乐、艺术、数学、记忆力等等。星儿不断克服挑战,最后成为知名艺术家、画家、作家,音乐家及数学天才,更因其成就获得奖项和赞赏。 4月份是自闭症月,而4月2日为世界自闭症日。世界各地举办了各种各样的活动,呼吁社会大众了解和关爱自闭症群体,号召各界人士以各种形式对自闭症家庭伸出援手,给予关心和支持,助他们走出迷雾,让星儿闪耀光芒。 <u>自閉兒症狀</u> 語言表達障礙:無法用言語表達,有些星兒不會說話、咬字不清、語速語音失調等問題;有些則能夠正常說話但無法表達意向。 興趣狹窄和刻板重復行為:星兒通常會有一些異常習慣或眷戀於某種興趣及遊戲,或在一段時間重復相同行為。如:到達某個地點的路線不容許更改、重復拍手或搖晃等動作。 情緒不穩定:當星兒的要求不被滿足或受到外來刺激影響時,容易導致情緒失控,甚至出現哭鬧、蹦跳、攻擊他人或自殘等行為。 觸覺、視覺、聽覺等感官敏感:自閉兒的感知很敏感,例如:光線、聲音和觸碰都會造成孩子不安。然而,敏感感知也成了他們的天賦,有些聽覺靈敏的星兒有著絕對音感,這讓他們在音樂上得到非凡成就。   <u>如何與自閉症兒童相處</u> 簡潔的溝通:避免使用過多不必要的語言,用簡潔的解釋和指導,必要時重復幾遍。 視覺教學:自閉症兒童的口頭表達和理解是種調整,在給予指導時須提供視覺描述。 鼓勵與獎勵:對孩子的獎勵及鼓勵能讓他們得到成就感,成功的經驗會成為他的動力。 教導正常行為取代異常行為:循序漸進的教學,減低孩子不適當行為。 了解自閉兒的天賦:自閉兒通常會執著於某項/些興趣,應利用這些興趣發展孩子的天賦,例如繪畫、音樂、數學、記憶力等。 理解情緒不安因素:自閉兒的感知很敏感,例如光線、聲音和觸碰都會造成孩子不安。

成志愿者计划

他们得到了我们所有人的巨大贡献。

Past Stories 1

Education - English Teaching / Support for Student Activities

Knowledge is the greatest tool for disadvantage children to break down barriers and lead to a better future. Therefore, education is a very important part for growing up children. Nurture Charity aims to provide help for these children during their learning. Through school campus, Nurture Charity provide lectures and camps of different topic, to develop children’s mindset to become more mature and responsible. Apart from that, Nurture Charity also offers character education courses for students to share their ethics. Except from academic, we also help students in their extracurricular activities to achieve extraordinary achievement. For instance, Nurture Charity sponsored the primary school students of SK Covent Infant Jesus 1 in Malacca to participate a world-class autonomous robot competition in China. A total of 61 countries participated in the competition. These students utilize their excellent creativity and won themselves 1st runner-up in this global competition. In addition, Nurture Charity provides disadvantages children that lack of education an opportunity to learn English language by organizing English classes. Fun and interesting methods helps these children to absorb and learn English more effectively.

Programme Details 1

Health Education Seminar and Workshop / Health Check

Most people does not pay a lot attention to their health. Therefore, improving children and caregiver’s knowledge on health education is important. It helps reduce children’s health problem, especially orphans, special children and Aboriginal tribes who is lacking of latest information. In conjunction with Eternal Healthcare (EHIC), Nurture Charity provides health knowledge sharing seminars and workshops for them. Mainly we educate these children healthy lifestyle, such as: self-care for daily life, how to protect from diseases, etc. We also provide health check services for the elderly and children.

Volunteer Registration

Social care and disaster relief

In the care of socially disadvantaged groups, Nurture Charity team will visits organizations with poor environment or facility and help out, such as: painting, repairing hoses, changing lamps, repairing power supplies, etc. We have also visits to the streets and distribute foods and necessities to the homeless. In addition, we are also committed to disaster relief operations. Through the recruitment of funds, victims are given assistance to relief from the disaster.

Recycle Main

Recycle For Better Tomorrow

Blue sky and white clouds, clear water and fresh air are the ideal environment for everyone. But with industrialization and the changing habits of life, we have produced a lot of garbage, the ideal environment seems to be drifting away from us. As pollution has become more and more serious, our next generation will not be able to breathe fresh air, or no longer able to enjoy a clean source of water. To prevent this from happening, all we need to do is to make a simple changes, that is to reduce waste. All this can start by stop using plastic bags. When we shop, we can bring our own bags or bring eco bag. The eco bag is not only recyclable, but also beautifully packaged and breathable. Therefore, we encourage all people to stop using plastic bags to reduce the white pollution crisis caused by them.

Who We Are

Autism Is Different Not Less

In this bustling world, there are a group of individuals lives in their very own glass castle with unique thinking to examine the outside. They are isolated and they only hear the voices within their own world. Their thinking patterns are different from ordinary people, no one would understand them as if they came from another planets. Hence, they are given a beautiful name – Children of the Stars (autistic children). A person who do not like to communicate with others and love to be alone is the first impression of autism most of us would have. In fact, autism is a complex neurobehavioural condition that includes impairments in social interaction, developmental language and communication skills. It is a birth defect and no medicines and treatments available for this condition. In 2018, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) determined that approximately 1 in 59 children is diagnosed with an autism spectrum disorder. Symptoms of autism include expressive language disorder, narrow interest and repetitive behaviour, aggressive behaviour, emotional instability, constant moving, extreme sensitivity to touch, light and sound, lack of coordination, etc. While some Children of the Stars are silent, the others may be active and talkative. In this case, “like to talk” does not mean they know how to express themselves and understand other people. The failure to act in different types of social situations separate them from the world. Therefore, their parents are their important navigators who can lead them to discover the world. For parents who are taking care of autistic children, they have to put more effort compare to others. Some of the autistic children unable to take care of themselves, therefore parents have to allocate more time teaching them, at the same time, learning to understand and communicate with them. In order to do this, most of the parents would need to quit their jobs, ensuring their children receive nothing less than the best. But, it could post a heavy financial burden to parents, especially with the high special education fee. The film “Ocean Heaven” has portrayed the love of parents and how far parents would travel for their Children of the Stars. Jet Li who played a terminally ill father, attempt to teach his autistic son (played by Wen Zhang) the necessary life skills to survive on his own before he passes away. The film invites audiences to enter the world of children with autism and experience the hardship of the family. Although Children of the Stars suffered from impaired verbal communication, some of them are gifted artists, painters, writers, musicians and maths geniuses. Their achievements often receive the highest compliment and awards. April is National Autism Awareness Month and 2nd of April is World Autism Awareness Day. Many activities will be held around the world to raise public awareness for caring about autism and supporting the autistic children and their families. <u>Symptoms of Autistic Children</u> Expressive language disorder: Difficulty in conveying or expressing information by using language include do not know how to speak, cannot speak clearly and speech disorder. Some of them are able to speak normally but fail to express what they think. Narrow interest and repetitive behaviour: Highly restricted, fixated interests that are abnormal in intensity of focus. Some may have a very strong interest in one or more special topics. They will repeat their same behavior continuously in a certain period of time, for instance, clapping the hands. Emotional instability: Screaming and yelling, jumping, attack people, self-injurious behaviour due to their requirements are unsatisfied or external stimulus. Extreme sensitivity to touch, light and sound: Uncomfortable with touch, light and sound. Because of their sensitivity, some of them have good achievements in particular fields, for instance, music. <u>How to Help Autistic Children?</u> Concise communication: Use simple words and repeat it if necessary. Visual teaching: Provide visual description while teaching. Change their abnormal behaviour gradually through teaching. Observe their interests and discover their talents. They can be a gifted painter, musician, maths genius, etc. Try to understand their emotional factors, for instance, uncomfortable with touch, light and sound.

Volunteer Programme

They received the big
contributions from all of us.